Veranstaltung am 9. Juli 2015 zu 60 Jahren Russell-Einstein Manifest

Remember Your Humanity and Forget the Rest! - Was sind die Herausforderungen für die nukleare Abrüstung?
Diese Frage soll anlässlich des 60. Jahrestags des Russell-Einstein-Manifests u.a. mit Prof. Harald Kroto (Nobelpreisträger Chemie 1996) und Prof. h.c. Egon Bahr (Bundesminister a.D.) diskutiert werden.
9. Juli 2015 | 18.00 Uhr | Konferenzraum im ApartHotel, Reinhardtstr. 27a-31, 10117 Berlin [PROGRAMM]

Interview mit Klimaforscher Hartmut Graßl

Am 2. Juli 2015 auf Deutschland Radio Kultur [Link]

Federation of German Scientists (FGS)


The Federation of German Scientists (FGS; German acronym VDW) was founded in 1959 in West-Berlin by renowned nuclear scientists, including Carl Friedrich von Weizsäcker and the Nobel Prize laureates Max Born, Otto Hahn, Werner Heisenberg, and Max von Laue. Two years earlier this group of experts had become well-known to the public as "Göttinger 18": Nuclear scientists who had publicly argued against a nuclear armament of the German Bundeswehr. Since then the FGS feels bound to the tradition of responsible science. In Annual Conferences and in interdisciplinary Study Groups as well as public comments it addresses issues of science and technology on the one hand, and peace and security policy on the other. At the same time, the role of science itself in genesis and in solution of socio-technological problems is subject of examination and expertise. It has nearly 400 members from different fields of the natural sciences, the humanities, and social sciences, so that a large range of topics is approached at a high level of competence. With the results of its interdisciplinary work the Federation of German Scientists not only addresses the general public, but also the decision-makers at all levels of politics and society.

Logo VDW e.V.